Do things need a title?

IMG_0647

Need a title? No. If not a title, then at least a handle, right? Maybe. Then, at least an ID#? Absolutely.

If I apply my definitions of title, handle, and ID# to this post is would look like:

  • Title
    • Example: Does everything need a title?
    • Notes: The super popular question in a title works well. People hope to find a unique and/or clever answer to the question that makes them look at life from a new perspective.
  • Handle
    • Example: Water and bubbles
    • Notes: The post has a featured image containing water and bubbles. Now someone can refer to this post as the “water and bubbles post (or picture)”. I can say, “yeah, I know that one”. Less people will read it, though.
  • ID#
    • Example: Blog post #109 -OR- 2264
    • Notes: This is my 109th blog post. If I was to leave the title of the post blank, WordPress’ content management system would automatically give it ID# 2264 in the URL. It’s a must. On the system level it has to have an identity, otherwise it can not be referenced, but even less people will read it.

Here’s the same concept applied to a person, but in reverse order—ID#, handle, title.

The ID# could be a social security number like 15645896. Not interesting, I don’t want to know more about you. If your handle was Gunner Hammer I would be like “what!”, who has a name like that and I would want to at least see what you look like. Finally, if your title was The King of Transformation I would have no choice but to read about you on the internet. It would be inevitable.

On one hand the social security is a must or it could be your human number dictated by how many humans came before you. Either way, we must have a way to refer to you. Luckily, handles and titles are easier to remember and can make you seem interesting.

So, the lesson is give your blog posts a title so that people will (start to) read them, but only if you’re making a website that you want people to come to. And the next baby you have should be given a handle (i.e. name) and a title if you want them to get lots of attention.

Anyway, I just wanted something to say when I posted this digital painting that I finished up last night. It has water and bubbles and other stuff in it.

3 Comments

  1. Kevin – I’m 3/4 of the way through “Show Your Work” by Austin Kleon, and his short chapters have all hit home in many ways. The last 2 or 3 have really hit me between the eyes. They’re about engaging and connecting with others in authentic ways; and I’m beginning to realize how isolated and maybe even isolating I’ve been in terms of throwing things up on my blog without any regard for others and without any effort on my part to connect with others. I’m writing this because your blog and your posts have been coming to mind as I read this book, and i usually associate them with examples of what A. Kleon is trying to teaching me/what I need to learn. Just wanted to say hey, to mention the name of the book in case you’re not already familiar with it, to point out how you illustrate many of the author’s suggestions, and to make an initial move towards becoming more interactive for purposes of both learning and teaching with the aim of growing and engaging more meaningfully. Oh, and to say Happy New Year. pjl

    Like

    • Happy New Year, Paul. I get Kleon’s newsletter where I’ve read about his ideas. He seems to know well how to use a blog to connect with folks and keep his books in the spotlight. In other words, he’s good at give and take and he seems cool to boot.

      I spent a lot of time listening to Internet content guru’s like Pat Flynn, Corbet Barr, and Chase Reeves and several others like them last year and the previous year. My biggest takeaways were to provide something—a service or product—that you care about and be as good as you can at it by polishing it constantly all while treating your audience good and being upfront with them. But first, a person needs a marketable skill and/or knowledge and for me I chose art. However, I need to get better so I started a blog and started practicing more and sharing it as honestly as I can manage. At the same time (another takeaway) was to start a mailing list because no matter what happens in social media email addresses will always be relevant and a way to get closer to your audience.

      As of today, my mailing list is only 7 people strong and I am not making money from the products I’ve created on Redbubble, but I am working on it slow and steady and I know it will begin to take off for me in 5 to 10 years. Not with exactly what I’m doing now, but some variation of it that I’ve tweaked to find my niche in the art world.

      Thanks for the compliments. Now would be a good time to tell you that I will no longer be posting to bradberryspread.wordpress.com. Please come visit me at https://bradberryspread.com hosted by Squarespace OR better yet join my monthly mailing list https://tinyletter.com/bradberryspread and I’ll always be in touch! ;)

      It always a pleasure to hear from you. -Kevin

      Like

      • Thanks for the detailed reply, Kevin. I subscribed. That one link to your new site didn’t open, but I’m confident we’ll keep in touch one way or another! Paul

        Like

Comments are closed.