The Portfoliolongo console

IMG_0642

I hereby present this piece to my WordPress Illustration Blogging peer, Paul Longo, of portfoliolongo.com.

He suggested I mix a dashboard, pipe threads and fittings…oops…I just checked my notes and realized that I forgot the doorknob. I finished it last night, uploaded it to a draft, and now I’m sitting at my desk at 7:32 in the morning trying to post this. It’s hot and ready to go. Paul, I’m going to have to owe you a doorknob.

In fact, I’m going to Morguefile right now to get you a shiny doorknob.

I’m back. I found something better than a shiny doorknob, check out this vintage hardware. It’s beautiful.

Forgive my forgetfulness. The reason, not my excuse, is that it was late in the evening after bathing the kids and putting them to bed with a few hurdles (read frustrations) that then led me to open a bottle of wine of which my wife got one glass and I got the rest.

I was at the kitchen table alone with my wine, This American Life podcast, my iPad, and my notebook that was open to the page where I wrote down the items that you requested (chagrin). I was cranking away on the painting and having a good time. Just forgot to double-check the notebook.

I hope the fact that I put your face on the dashboard can make up for that.

I’ll add one more offering to the plate. This is my first draft from the previous day that I scrapped.

IMG_0644

11 Comments

  1. Thanks Kevin! I love those shinny fittings and pipes and how you have them connected to gauges and a dashboard! It’s like you’ve read my palm and discovered my “performance measurement” past, when I use to help organizational collect data and circulate information throughout the system To “drive” improvement. My favorite part is the 3 T fittings!

    What a generous and cool way to engage viewers by asking us to supply elements that you then fuse into a personalized drawing. Thank you very much! I love it!

    Like

    • You’re welcome, it’s my pleasure. That insight into your corporate experience and the “Ph.D. Anthropology” tag I saw on your About.me page a while back are helping me to understand your social illustrations more.

      I work in a technical role as an engineering draftsman where precision is a must, so it’s great to unload at home by making creative, skys-the-limit artwork. I bet you can relate.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kevin, hey there. I’m back for a closer look at P Console; this time on my larger monitor, and wow, how much more detail I can see, like the shinny copper. I really like the way you lightened it up here and there to pull off that shininess.
    I just started teaching “digital art” on Fridays to adults with disabilities, and this image of yours is prompting me to compare and contrast “shadowing” with “brilliancing” (if I can go ahead and temporarily coin a new word even though the concept is probably called something technical and specific, but since I was raised by wolves in the forest, I need a.) remedial orientation and b.) inner confidence to just keep “playing things by ear” even if I have to reinvent the wheel(s). I’m going to piece together an initial blog post to see if I can tease out some comments from more-experienced folks out there working with adults with disabilities for the first time and teaching art without any formal training of my own.
    Love the copper!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It means a lot to me that you enjoy it that much. Good luck with your teaching endeavor. Sounds like an great way to use one’s time. As we both use Procreate, don’t hesitate to ask me anything you want to know about how I make something. Maybe it could lend itself to your lesson plan.

      A good example: I sometimes use layer effects to produce shadowing and brillancing. Color in white or black (different layers) and then make the layers transparent until you get the level of lighting you like. Or try the different layer effects like Overlay, Soft Light, and Hard Light to get richer lighting effects.

      Like

      • Great idea! I hope to go in that direction in a few months if all goes well.

        For the moment the “clients,” as they’re called, are using “Sketches,” an iPad drawing app. That’s what’s loaded on the tablets; and without the added package of features, including layers. It’s one 1.5 hour class on Fridays for 2 small groups of 8, basically because there’re only 8 iPads. I’d like to add Paper 53 in Jan. Today I’m planning to focus on 2-finger swiping to undo and redo as well as pinching to decrease and reverse pinching to increase size. I’m starting the off with black construction paper and salt to get them to swipe and pinch more softly and evenly with thumb and 1st finger. We’ll do some exercises on the iPad in Sketches next, using the graph paper selection so that we can enlarge the squares, outline them, fill them in, undo, and redo…as the drill, then play around with other things.
        Sorry for outlining the lesson…I’m still thinking through it.

        Like

      • Yeah, I started with Sketches app 2 years ago. I don’t remember if it’s an in-app purcahse, but layers are available. My install has 4 layers. I think Sketches is a better choice for your audience over Procreate. The tools are graphical to represent the real thing (like Paper 53) and the hatches and letters will be fun to work with.

        We talk too much. We should hook up via email as I have other things I like to talk about sometime. I’ve got your address, do you mind if I send a message from time to time?

        Like

Comments are closed.