Creationists are building a massive ark

IMG_0320

Young-Earth creationism is not a belief, but an ignorance. It’s a vehicle for regressing human knowledge. It is the opposite of science.

There are people alive today that think a god zapped the entire universe into existence about 6,000 years ago and that man has been here since the beginning. They’re not so bold that they’ll claim dinosaur fossils are fake. Of course not. They know the fossils are real and they know that dinosaurs walked the Earth with man. Duh.

If they believe that then they must also believe that carbon dating, geology, macro-evolution, plate tectonics, etc. are wrong.

Creationists probably think me subscribing to the Big Bang theory is ridiculous and I can understand that and I think it’s healthy to discuss/argue/debate or whatever those ideas. But it’s not healthy for the progressive development of humanity to have the existence of an organization known as the Museum of Creation (powered by Answers to Genisis) to raise $29 million dollars to build Noah’s Ark, a project dubbed Ark Encounter.

The Ark Encounter is a one-of-a-kind historically themed attraction. In an entertaining, educational, and immersive way, it presents a number of historical events centered on a full-size, all-wood Ark, which should become the largest timber-frame structure in the USA.

Additional future phases for the attraction include a Walled City, the Tower of Babel, a first-century Middle Eastern village, a journey in history from Abraham to the parting of the Red Sea, a walk-through aviary, an expanded large petting zoo, and so on.

“Historical events”, really? So, 4,400 years ago the Judeo-Christian god flooded the planet (a few centuries after he made the place) while Noah and his 7 family members floated it out on a big-ass boat for 40 days accompanied by pairs of selected species of flora and fauna (including dinosaurs) whose combined efforts post-flood would result in the global organism population and diversity that we have today?

This project has the power of capitalism. With enough money anyone can put forth a level of credibility to any idea. We’re all influenced by research studies, but we don’t bother looking at the fine print to see what organization funded the study. We like polished newsletters and well designed websites. They extract a bit of unearned trust from us.

I think our only weapon is logic and critical thinking. On the bright side, if my kids ever get excited about something like the Ark Encounter, I can use it as an educational exercise. It’s my job to encourage them to ask questions, apply reason, and probe ideas for fallacy.

6 Comments

  1. Kevin Bradberry

    Thanks, Paul. I just read your post and must admit I was uncertain of the illustrations meaning until I read your final remark in comments. What threw me off was that the creationist had his mouth in the telescope, it was making me dig for meanings that you didn’t intend. Anyhow, glad I have a friend on here to share some views with.

    Like

    • Agreed! A friend to share – and let me add: explore – views with. I’m realizing that I usually don’t have a complete understanding of the drawings and commentaries that I post, and that it often takes some meaningful interaction for me to gain a deeper understanding. I appreciate our interactions…oh, and your illustrations and viewpoints as well. Viva le Spread!

      Like

  2. Interesting post. While I do not support the idea of a young earth/galaxy, I do support the belief of intelligent design. There is simply too much order within reality to be simply a result of randomness. What I do find interesting is that people do not want to support the idea of a worldwide flood and an ark. Has anyone actually taken the time to calculate the space needed to house and feed two of every animal type (not plant, they would survive a flooding) on the planet? And if so, how big would this vessel be? Just make sure you ask questions, but ask the right questions, not just the one’s that support one opinion. That’s the secret of critical thinking.

    Like

  3. Kevin Bradberry

    I’ll not post the link, but I’ll tell you that Ark Encounter takes the Flood very seriously and in their opinion, scientifically. Search for their blog and you’ll find answers to the questions you pose.

    I see intelligent design theory as fine if it’s used as the explanation for the initial expansion of the universe some 14 billion years ago. Maybe there is a higher power that designed this expansion in such a way that matter would accumulate and give way to planets where proteins could form and evolve into intelligent life. And that’s cool because it leaves unlimited space for math and science to figure out how it all works. The rub for me in the overall discussion of “how we got here” is there is not proper evidence that the designer wants us to worship it and provide us a paradise for the afterlife. If the higher power is a designer, then it has created plenty of other projects out in the multiverse and we shouldn’t be so quick to think the designer is much concerned with the Human Project.

    The annoying thing about the style of the argument that I just gave is that it can go on forever. Each side could continue to produce logical responses ad infinitum, which can be fun for awhile. Returning to the theme of the blog post I’ll say that there is not sufficient logic to be had in a discussion about a young earth.

    Thanks for the reply japhethwg. My apologies if you consider yourself a Creationist. In my article, I should’ve specified “young earth creationists”, like you put it.

    Like

Comments are closed.