Face The Rail & Bye Sketches, Hello Procreate

 

This is my second drawing using the Procreate app, yet it is my first in-depth drawing (as compared to my first drawing). I was drawing with a different app, but it let me down for the second time.

I Was Lovin’ The Sketches App

It has graphic representation of the tools that you are drawing with; not when you are drawing, but when you select them.

It has fewer options than Procreate. This can be an advantage for some, but not for all. Fewer options allows you to spend more time creating and less time deciding. However, once you know the functions of those options, you can create so much more. For simplicity, the Sketches app is the better choice if you want to sketch for the sake of catching your ideas quickly, and if you want to create masterpieces, then Procreate with its Photoshop-esque features, yet specifically designed for iPad drawing, is the better choice.

I chose Sketches, to put it simply, because it is neat and I was scared of the many features of Procreate—it appeared to be for professional artists.

I used for dozens of hours, yet sadly, I had to abandon the Sketches app, before I ever tried the Procreate app, because twice it crashed on me, yielding lost hours of work. I couldn’t go on with the worry that it may happen again. I have no clue was caused the crashes.

static.squarespace

I Knew Procreate Was My Next Move

Before I ever started drawing on an iPad, I searched drawing/painting/sketching apps in the iTunes store, checked the reviews, and read up on them a bit. The 3 best appeared to be Procreate, Paper, and Sketches.

Now, Paper is a beautiful looking app, with proprietary technology, but it did not have drawing layers, and, after using that on the Sketches app, I was spoiled. Fortunately, there is a free version of Paper, so I got to see and feel it.

Procreate steps up to the plate in countless ways. It also has proprietary technology that makes it quick and sophisticated. It was not my first choice because I thought that it was going to have too many bells and whistles that might overwhelm me. The Sketches app was simpler, but still with a clever array of options.

See the Procreate homepage and you’ll understand why anybody that wants to make beautiful artwork on an iPad cannot resist it—it sold me. And after trying it out for several hours, I changed my mind about it being hard to learn. It was also very helpful that the creators put out a visually appealing 100+ page user guide.

If you want to chat about Procreate or collaborate on a drawing together (they make that easy, too) contact me or leave a comment.

