I Need Drawing Lessons, But They’re Expensive

 

Don’t judge it too harshly. Judge it as harshly as you like, the criticism may help me.

The angle I was viewing the mouse while drawing is different than the angle from which I snapped the photo. I tried 3 shots in attempt to match the angle of the sketch, to no avail. I toss it up to my eyes seeing in 3D versus the camera seeing in 2D. Or, maybe I need a lot of practice. I admit that I do.

Getting Better Quickly

By doing it almost daily, I’m catching up on lost years of not practicing drawing, whether it be a quick doodle on the closest piece of paper or a time consuming layered drawing on my iPad. Time is usually the deciding factor. I may spend 5 minutes or 2 hours practicing throughout the day. That averages to 62.5 min/day, and If I were to place stock in the 10,000 hour rule, it would take me approximately 30 years to become a master of drawing.

I’m not afraid of that number. I’m committed to this pursuit. I’m going to be at this for the rest of my life; more than 30 years, fingers crossed. However, I’m a modern day consumer and I want results quicker!

I’m Gonna Take Lessons

During the next 30 years of mastering my craft I can increase the rate of my progress if I get instruction from people with higher levels of skill than myself. Sounds like a no brainer after I typed that last sentence, but ego is the enemy. It’s flattering to think I will become a self-taught, amazing artist; that the progression of my talent will be untainted by the style of teachers. But I’ve got ideas in my head that I’m dying to get onto paper for which I don’t possess the technical skills to bring them to life.

A Slight Fear

It’s an unfounded fear, but exists in my head nonetheless. I’m afraid that if I take professional instruction that my style will become an autonomous text book style adopted by the average artist. I say it’s unfounded because I rationally believe that it is up to me how my style turns out. It’s up to me to think creatively and refuse to be like anyone else.

Free Lessons Online Is My Strategy

A few days ago I did two Google searches, one for “free art lessons”, the other for “free drawing lessons.” These are the results that stood out from which I’m going to rifle through and find what bodes well with me.

This is my quick review after browsing the sites for a total of 15 minutes. Don’t let any of it dissuade you from visiting the sites to get the full details.

  1. Five Pencil Method
    1. Lessons appear to be free after providing your first name and email address.
    2. One instructor
    3. Drawing only
  2. Drawspace
    1. Free and paid lessons from $80 – $500.
    2. Multiple instructors, “full classroom” experience available, credits awarded
    3. Drawing only
  3. The Virtual Instructor
    1. Appears to be one instructor
    2. Free lessons are mentioned, but the best material is for subscribers @ $37/yr (not bad for all the content that is listed on their site).
    3. Mostly drawing, but pastels and painting also included
  4. Jerry’s Artarama: Free Video Art LessonsAll lessons are free
    1. Multiple instructors
    2. Drawing and painting

After completing this short research session, I want to try the Five Pencil Method. If that doesn’t feel right, I’ll try Jerry’s Artarama. The other two I’ll leave as possibilities because money is involved to get the best content, but maybe that content will far exceed the free options I’ve chosen.

I’ll be back soon to report my experience with the lessons.

Saving Face

Limited knowledge of techniques considered, I can still make a clean drawing with interesting shading. I drew this plant-like appendage a couple days before the computer mouse drawing.

